Completely reload website on serverАвтор: Malcolm P.
The Google search engine (also Bing and probably others) is currently showing outdated but still accessible links to previous but now obsolete pages (i.e. deprecated and no longer in the site menu) on one of my websites. This is causing some confusion amongst site visitors.
Is it safe to ensure removal of all records of these old pages by deleting everything in the public_html folder and uploading the entire current website again from scratch, then resubmitting the sitemap to Google? Will anything be lost in this process (eg ReCaptcha, site indexing/analytics etc)?
I understand that the specific page URLs can be manually removed from Google pending reindexing, but that still leaves the old pages on the server and it is not clear which individual files need to be removed to ensure complete deletion.