WebSite X5Help Center

 
John H.
John H.
User

When updating my web hosting server deleted or updated images stay on server  en

Autor: John H.
Visited 189, Followers 1, Udostępniony 0  

Hi,

When I upload my website to the internet, using 'export only the files modified', deleted files remain on the server and modified files are given a new name.

I now have tons of the same picture or file on my server and I have no idea which one I can safely delete via my FTP program. So messy now.....

I would have though the system would have deleted the old file and replaced it with a new version or delete a no longer used file completely. 

Am I doing something wrong???

Thanks and cheers.

Posted on the
2 ODPOWIEDZI
Paul M.
Paul M.
Moderator
Najlepszy Użytkownik miesiąca EN

Hello John,

You're not doing anything wrong.  WebSite X5 never deletes files or folders on the server.  It only adds them.

You can delete files and folders manually before exporting in Step 5, but like you say this can be rather tedious and messy.

What I tend to do is 'flush' the server periodically by deleting all files and folders in a WebSite X5 project directory, then doing a full upload from WebSite X5 again.  I keep mirrors of any customised files which are not related to WebSite X5 in any way, so that I can easily restore these back to the server again once the WebSite X5 upload has completed.

Kind regards,

Paul

Search the WebSite X5 Help Center

Czytaj więcej
Posted on the from Paul M.
John H.
John H.
User
Autor

Thanks Paul, 

After I had submitted this post, I thought about doing what you suggested. Just needed some confirmation as to that been the best solution. 

Thanks again for your prompt reply, I really appreciated it.

Kind regards,

John

Czytaj więcej
Posted on the from John H.